To Delete, or to Close?

FogBugz is built around the idea of capturing and tracking everything about your project. To that end, we’ve made some design decisions that might seem odd at first, but actually end up making a lot of sense. It’s sort of like looking for the “off” button on your iPod. For an iPod, paused is the same as off.

A closed case is, for the purposes of issue tracking, the same as deleted. It no longer shows up in filters, it’s not assigned to anyone. It can be found only by filtering for closed cases or by searching for text in it specifically. We’ve found that once people get used to the idea of just closing a case and moving on, it never comes up again, the same way you get used to not having to manually switch off your iPod.

Most often, the cases that people are looking to delete are the ones with the title “foo” or “test” that they put in when they were starting off with FogBugz. There are two options here. First, you can close and ignore the case. Other bugs will be filed, and soon those cases will be a distant memory. Or, you can install the Case Event Edit plug-in, which will allow you to repurpose those old cases for new uses.

For customers where there might be a security or privacy issue (such as a credit card number erroneously stored in a case), we recommend running FogBugz on your own server where you have full control over the database and can excise data as necessary.

If you truly need to remove information, then deleting data directly from the database is the only way. If you are using FogBugz on Demand and have accidentally placed sensitive data in your FogBugz account, then please contact us and we can help get that data removed.