Manuscript allows you to set up groups of users who can be granted permissions to read or modify certain parts of Manuscript selectively. Permissions can be granted directly to a user or a group, and allow for different levels of access to Projects, Wikis, and Discussion Groups.

Types of Users

See this article to understand the difference in user types (Normal, Administrator, Virtual, Community, Anonymous).

Projects

Access to cases is controlled at the project level. Normal users can be given permission to view cases, submit cases, or to be a project administrator. Community users can only be given permission to submit cases and view cases they have already submitted.

To setup project permissions:

  1. From the Avatar menu, click Projects.
  2. Click on the Edit button on the left for the Project you want to edit.
  3. Click on Edit Permissions.
  4. Click on Add User or Group to give a new User or Group permission.
    1. NOTE: When swapping user groups for more restrictive permissions, then also remove the default All Normal Users group by clicking the recycle bin icon in the Delete column.
  5. Select the appropriate radio buttons for the permissions you want to grant.
    1. Read: Read-only permissions to cases in this project
    2. Modify: Ability to modify cases (comment, change areas, priority, etc.) in this project
    3. Admin: A project administrator.

Tip:

When a new project is created, the initial permissions are set to allow the group All Normal Users. To change this, such as when more restriction permissions are in use, then while creating a new project on the new project screen, under Initial Permissions choose “Clone Project A_Project_Name” where “A_Project_Name” is the name of the project that has the desired permissions.

Wikis and discussion groups

Both normal and community users can be given access to a Wiki or Discussion Group. Normal users can be given read, write, or administration privileges, while community users can be given permission to read or write only.

To setup wiki or discussion group permissions:

  1. Go to Wiki -> Manage Wikis or Discuss -> Manage Discussions.
  2. Click on the Configure button on the left for the Wiki or Discussion Group you want to edit.
  3. Click on Edit Permissions.
  4. Click on Add User or Group to give a new User or Group permission.
  5. Select the appropriate radio buttons for the permissions you want to grant.

Promoting Normal Users

There are two types of administrators: Site Administrators, and administrators who have been given additional permission on a specific Project, Wiki, or Discussion Group. Site administrators have full control over all areas of Manuscript and are the only users that can edit permissions or Create/Delete Projects, Wikis, and Discussion Groups. Non-Site Administrators get control over their respective areas, described below:

Projects

Project Administrators can’t create or delete projects, and can’t assign project admin permissions to other users, but otherwise have full control over their own projects, including the ability to:

  • create, edit, and delete areas
  • create, edit, and delete milestones
  • modify project settings
  • assign only modify or read permissions to users or groups within the project admin’s visibility
  • create and assign workflows to the project
  • edit assigned workflows to the project created by other project admins

Wikis

Wiki administrators can’t create or delete wikis or assign wiki admin permissions to other users, but otherwise have full control over their own wikis, including the ability to:

  • create, edit, and delete templates
  • modify wiki settings
  • assign only modify or read permissions to users or groups within the wiki admin’s visibility

Discussion groups

Discussion Group Administrators can’t create or delete discussion groups or assign discussion group admin permissions to other users, but otherwise have full control over their own discussion groups, including the ability to:

  • moderate discussions (deleting and undeleting posts)
  • see the email address and IP address of a poster
  • modify discussion group settings
  • modify discussion group layouts
  • assign only modify or read permissions to users or groups within the discussion group admin’s visibility

 

Visibility

Isolating users from one another

In various parts of the Manuscript user interface, you can see a list of users in a dropdown list. Manuscript will only show each user the names of people who have some project or group in common.

For example, Alice and Bob will not see each other’s names in any dropdown lists with the following group setup:

  • Development group: Alice, Ted, Joan
  • Administration group: Bob, Emily

However, suppose we create a Project called Bob’s Project and give the Development Group and Bob permission on it. Then Bob and Alice would be able to see each other. Also, note that if we give All Normal Users permission on a project then everyone can see everyone in a Manuscript install.

Mailbox Usage Rules

In order for a user to initiate an email from a specific mailbox, they must have read access to a project and the mailbox they wish to use must be set to sort incoming messages into an area in that project. They must also have write access to the project from which they’d like to send emails. Only if these conditions are met will a user be able to initiate outgoing emails from a given mailbox, and in that situation, they still won’t be able to reply to emails moved from the mailbox associated project to the project on which they have “modify” permissions.

Other Visibility Rules

There are a few other rules to keep in mind if you are concerned about user visibility:

Special Permissions

The following permissions are not related to project, wiki and discussion group permissions.

Snippet Management

All site administrators have permission to manage global snippets. Other users can only create, edit and delete their own personal snippets. If a normal user needs permission to manage global snippets, site administrators can grant them (or a group of users) on the snippet page. Note: granting snippet permissions to two otherwise isolated users does not cause them to see each other in Manuscript.