What’s This All About?
FogBugz is built around the idea of capturing and tracking everything about your project. A closed case is, for the purposes of issue tracking, the same as deleted. It no longer shows up in filters, it’s not assigned to anyone. It can be found only by filtering for closed cases or by searching for text in it specifically. We’ve found that once people get used to the idea of just closing a case and moving on, it never comes up again.
Sometimes, closing a case isn’t enough. For example, if sensitive information gets entered in to a case this may need to be purged permanently. This is a good time to delete the bug event with the sensitive information. Administrators can edit any case and delete “bug events” (comments and emails). Individual events must be deleted, not entire cases, and the user who deleted an event is noted on the event for auditing purposes.
Think carefully before you delete. This is not a recycling-bin style delete: once it’s gone, it’s gone. If it’s not sensitive information, you may be better off closing the case.
Who Can Delete Bug Events?
The following is required to delete a bug event:
- Have a FogBugz On Demand or FogBugz On Site account (FogBugz For Your Server customer? Migrating is possible!)
- Enable FogBugz Ocelot (Don’t have Ocelot? Contact us.)
- Be logged in as an administrator
Deleting a Bug Event
- Avery Customer wants to back up their personal data. Currently Avery stuffs piles of paper in the coffee table drawer. Unfortunately, they sent the information to your FogBugz site in an email. Uh-oh!
- One of your FogBugz On Demand site administrators is notified, and they click the Edit button to edit the case, just like they were adding a new bug event. Only now, each existing bug event also has an “x” button at the upper-right hand corner
- The Administrator clicks the “x” button, and is warned that they’re about to irreversibly delete the bug event. Yes, they’re sure. Permanently Delete!
- The case remains in Case Edit mode, with one big change: the event shows up as “Removed”. Now Avery Customer’s Netflix password is no longer in your FogBugz On Demand account, and everyone can rest easy. Cancel the edit, or to be thorough, make a note as to why the bug event was removed and click Save.